2002-12-08 - 2:34 p.m.

About "Kitty Meets the Furries"




Kitty Meets the Furries first appeared as One Saturday Night in Furbank in my diary. Some months later I was invited to participate in a show called "Hans: Interspecies Love" at Oni Gallery in Boston, so I edited the story and drew illustrations of the photos I took at the Confurence, and I made a 16-page color postcard-sized illustrated book. Here's how it was printed. And here's a sample illustration:



Here's what people have written about KMTF:

It's a steal, filled with great art, a wacky story, and loads and loads of fur. Get yiffy with it! - The Reverse Cowgirl

Quite possibly the most interesting expose of the furry society made in the last few weeks. - Rabbit Valley

Worst. Infiltration. Ever. - Sean, on the alt.fan.furry bulletin board.





Kitty Meets the Furries was recently added to the Recommended Furry Reading List for the 2002 Ursa Major Awards! The Awards honor the best anthropomorphic literature and art of 2002. I'm practically unknown, certainly the dark horse, and considering my book is satirical, I'm surprised to be on the list. And thrilled! I don't know whether KMTF stands a chance against famous characters like the mighty Thundercats and movie veteran Howard the Duck, or the delightfully bratty chimpanzee from My Monkey's Name is Jennifer, but who knows!

If you'd like to see Kitty Meets the Furries on the official voting ballot to be presented at ConFurence 2003 in April, you can help! Please email a nomination to [email protected].

Or, send it by letter (postmarked by January 7, 2003) to:

ConFurence Group
(attention: Ursa Major Awards)
P. O. Box 84721
San Diego, California 92138-4721

And please let me know if you do, so I can say thank you!

This is what the book looks like. Feel free to dress up the furry silhouette any way you like! And you can buy copies online--just click the cover!


You can also find Kitty Meets the Furries at Skylight Books in Los Angeles, Oni Gallery in Boston, and online at Rabbit Valley.



Back to Taking it on the Chin.



Diaryland